Liability for a Car Accident Caused by a Teen Driver - Who Else is Liable?
In Florida, there are a number of car accidents that involve a teen driver who was negligent or at fault for the crash. In the aftermath of a car accident caused by a negligent teen driver, there are a number of issues or challenges that arise as to liability, insurance, and responsibility. Florida has unique laws in place that pertain to teen driving accidents. It is important to understand your legal rights when you or a family member has been injured as a result of the careless or negligent driving of a teen driver.
Based in Jacksonville, Florida, car accident attorney David Wolf is quite knowledgeable about the laws and regulations pertaining to teen driving, teen driver's licenses, and negligence. For over 28 years, he has represented individuals seeking compensation and justice in the aftermath of an automobile accident. He is the author of 12 books including the book titled - Florida Automobile Accidents - Personal Injuries - Keys to Protecting and Enforcing Your Legal Rights.
Typically, a teen, at the age of 15, obtains a Florida Lerner's Driver License. To obtain a Learner's License, the teen must have a parent or legal guardian sign the Parental Consent Form. This is very important legal document. By signing this document, a parent or legal guardian assumes the legal obligations imposed by Florida law in which the parent or legal guardian is liable or responsible for the negligent driving of the teen driver from the age of 15 to the age of 18. Pursuant to Section 322.09, Florida Statutes, the negligence or willful misconduct of the teen driver is imputed to the parent or legal guardian signing off on the Parental Consent Form. It should be noted that this liability or responsibility remains in place until the teen is 18 even if another parent or guardian brings the teen in for a Class E (Unrestricted) Driver License when the teen is 16 years old or otherwise qualified to test for and receive the Class E Driver License. The Parental Consent Form can be withdrawn or changed to another parent or legal guardian but must be done so in writing pursuant to the rules and regulations of the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles - Division of Driver Licenses.
In addition to the parent or legal guardians signing off on the Parent Consent Form, the owner of the vehicle driven by the teen driver can also be held legally liable or responsible for the negligent driving of the teen under the Florida Dangerous Instrumentality Doctrine. In the State of Florida, the operation of a motor vehicle is considered a dangerous instrumentality. As such, if you as the motor vehicle owner consent to the use and operation of the motor vehicle by a teen driver or even another driver, you could be held legally liability for the negligence of the driver even if you were not in the vehicle and even if you did not have any notice or warning that the driver was careless in any manner in the past.
Because of the laws in the State of Florida involving teen drivers and liability, it is important to have good insurance coverage in place that both protects the teen and others who may be involved in a car accident with the teen. David Wolf provides a Free Consultation on all car accident and personal injury cases. If he accepts the case for representation, he will do so on a Contingency Basis which means that there will be no attorney fees or costs charged unless there is a financial recovery. Get D Wolf - On Your Side - At Your Side.